Making a Client Profile or Program Enrollment Private
Overview
Sometimes an individual client or household will request their data not be shared in Clarity Human Services outside the agency they are being served by. When this occurs and the agency is configured to share data with other agencies, the client record or components of it can be made private.
- Data Sharing is top down. If the top of file (client profile) is not shared. No other client data will be shared.
In addition to making the client record itself private, the following components of the client record can be made private:
- Program enrollments
- If the program enrollment is not shared, no other data within the program enrollment is shared. This includes files, services, assessments, referrals.
- Client Notes are automatically not shared within a Program Enrollment
- Items that may be closed in a file while the program enrollment remains shared.
- Location records
- Contact records
- Files
- Assessments
- Service items
- Referrals
When a client record or component of the record is made private, only staff members for whom the creating agency is their home agency (or if they are switched into the agency) will be able to see the information.
Making the Client Program Enrollment Private / Not Shared
To make the client Program Enrollment private, navigate from the Client Profile into the Program Enrollment to the LOCK icon in the upper right-hand corner of the client Program Enrollment

- Click CONFIRM to click Save Changes.

- The Lock icon will then changed from unlocked to locked

Making the Client Profile Private / Not Shared
To make the full Client Profile private, navigate to the top of the screen in the BAR containing the client name. This is the Client Profile. Click on the LOCK icon in the upper right-hand corner of the client profile bar across from the Client Name.

- Click CONFIRM to click Save Changes.

- The Lock icon will then changed from unlocked to locked

Making Location, Contact, Notes, Files, Service Items and Referrals Private
Making any of these items private is accomplished the same way: when recording or editing the item, toggle on the Private setting.
- Clients NOTES within a Program Enrollment will automatically default to note shared outside the agency. No further steps are needed to not share Client Notes within a Program Enrollment.
- Services, Referrals and Current Living Situations can also be marked private by navigating to the top right hand corner of the service, referrals, and CLS screens.
- For Coordinated Entry, generally these enrollments and referrals are not made private due to the necessary actions needed to share client data with programs who may provide services to client as a result of the Coordinated Entry referral. Please reach out the HMIS System Admin in your area for questions regarding Coordinated Entry.
Copyright © Institute for Community Alliances, 2026. All Rights Reserved.